Merge ideas

Sometimes users create similar suggestions, and you need to merge those ideas. You can merge one idea into another, or multiple ideas into one. We'll walk you through how.

Merge a Single Idea

  • Click the Ideas icon (lightbulb) on the left.
  • Click "All open suggestions".
  • Use the filters and search bar to find the suggestion you want to merge.
  • Click the menu option to the right of the suggestion and choose "Merge".
  • Use the filters and search bar to find the suggestion you want to merge into, select it and click "Merge".
  • The confirmation screen will show you the path for your merge - the green suggestion on the bottom will be the "winning" suggestion. You can reverse the direction of the merge, and also choose to notify subscribers.
  • Click "Confirm Merge" to finalize the merge.

Merge Multiple Ideas at Once

  • Click the Ideas icon (lightbulb) on the left.
  • Click "All open suggestions".
  • Use the filters and search bar to find the suggestions you want to merge.
  • Use the checkboxes to the left to select the suggestions you want to merge, then click "More actions" in the blue bar and select "Merge suggestions".
  • Use the filters and search bar to find the suggestion you want to merge into, select it and click "Merge".
  • The confirmation screen will show you the path for your merge - the green suggestion on the bottom will be the "winning" suggestion. On this screen, you can choose to notify subscribers.
  • Click "Confirm Merge" to finalize the merge.

Common Questions


Q. What happens to the merged idea?
 
A. The idea you merged will be listed as “Merged” in the Admin Console, and it will no longer be visible on your web portal. Its supporters, comments, feedback, labels, and SmartVote results will become part of the "winning" idea. Its description will appear as a comment on the "winning" idea. 

Q. Where can I see ideas that were merged? 
Click the Ideas icon on the left -> click "all open suggestions" -> filter by Status: Merged.

Q. Can I undo a merge? 
A. A merge can be undone immediately after the fact by clicking the "undo" banner at the top of the screen. This is the only time you can undo a bulk merge, but single-suggestion merges can be undone at a later time. Check out this article for more details on undoing a merge.

You Might Find Helpful:







Feedback and Knowledge Base