Legacy voting with limits

[This article may not be relevant if you're on a current plan. To learn more about the supporter metric, which is what we recommend for gathering ideas from users, check out this article.]

How Legacy Voting Works


By default customers are given 10 votes per Forum (votes are counted across categories). Users cast votes in two ways...

Creating Ideas: It takes at least one vote to create an idea. 
Supporting Ideas: Users can also give 1—3 votes to any idea they support.

When a user has run out of votes, they will see this message in the Forum or in the Widget: You've used all your votes and won't be able to post a new idea, but you can still search and comment on existing ideas.

Change Vote Limits

Votes are per forum, and you can customize how many votes users have to spend within that forum.

  • Go to Settings → General → Suggestions → Forums → Click "edit" for the forum you want to edit votes in → Scroll down to "Votes Allowed"
  • Choose how many votes you want users to receive.
  • Click "Save Settings" at the bottom of the page, and you're done!
Can I Give Certain Users More Votes? No. Right now all users get the same amount of votes.

How Users Get their Votes Back


When you “Close” an idea, give it a “Completed” or “Declined” status, votes will be returned to users. If you delete an idea, users will not get their votes back. By default, the only two closed statuses are Completed and Declined (but you may have a custom status set up).

Note: When you “Close” an idea, the idea will still retain its vote count even though votes have been returned to users.

Sometimes users don’t want to wait for their votes to be returned. They see a new idea and want to be able to vote for it right away. They actually have the option to reorganize their votes.
  • Have users log into your UserVoice site. They’ll see their username in the top right corner and a “Settings” link underneath. Click on the link.
  • They’ll see their profile on the right and on the left two tabs—"My Ideas" and “Comments.”
  • If they click on “My Ideas,” they will see a list of all the suggestions they’ve voted for. The blue vote button shows how many votes they’ve give each idea.
  • When they click on the button, they’ll be given the option to change the number of votes they’ve given the idea or to remove their votes altogether.
  • This allows your users to change the votes they’ve assigned to ideas. They can easily redistribute their votes as new ideas are shared on the Forum or if they want to add additional votes to an idea.

Feedback and Knowledge Base